THE IDEA

The Speicherstadt is the traditional symbol of Hanseatic merchant power. Following the abolition of the free zone in 2003, the Speicherstadt has moved into the centre of Hamburg and today represents the portal between the city centre and HafenCity.

The successful idea of an artistic staging of the warehouses on the canals was born in 1993 and 1994. With the organisation of the International Light Forum by Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG (then Hamburger Hafen und Lagerhaus AG) and subsequently with the theatre project “Der Hamburger Jedermann” by Michael Batz, the Speicherstadt was used as a stage for the first time and partially staged artistically.

In 2015, the Speicherstadt warehouse ensemble, which is unique in the world, and the neighbouring Kontorhaus district, together with the Chilehaus, were inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

The current illumination of the Speicherstadt is altogether the result of a coherent artistic basic concept as well as a design process of many years full of technical and organisational challenges and experiences.

Wasserschloss © ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel
Wasserschloss © ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel

REALISATION

With the theatre production “Mozart. Amerika” by Michael Batz (1999) at the Theater in der Speicherstadt was the breakthrough for the idea of a permanently illuminated Speicherstadt. The story of Mozart librettist Lorenzo da Ponte’s stay in Hamburg (1801) transformed the Speicherstadt into a grandiose open-air opera house. Theatre-goers rode on launches through the illuminated canals and listened to arias from “Don Giovanni”. This was the start of a first temporary lighting design of facades, bridges and roofs just like winch bonnets and gables.

Immediately convincing was how the medium of light was to be rhythmised and qualified. The success of the theatre project marked the breakthrough for the idea of an illuminated Speicherstadt. The lighting concept formulated by Michael Batz became the basis for the realisation, not least because of the objective of harmoniously combining the three factors of aesthetics, economy and environmental compatibility.

© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel
© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel

STAGING

In the case of the Speicherstadt, the lighting concept could not fall back on any reference. A comparable object of similar size and architectural differentiation has never been illuminated before.

In April 2001, the city of Hamburg experienced the realisation of an unprecedented project: an entire district shone in light for the first time in the evening hours. Over a distance of 1.5 km, the historic warehouse complex was transformed into a fascinating nocturnal panorama. Over 60 harbour launches celebrated this moment with a ship siren concert. Since then, the image of the illuminated Speicherstadt with its beauty, elegance and lightness has been carried around the world for the city of Hamburg.

No floodlight, no distance light, no light canonade: with illumination, the light mass becomes, as it were, an integral part of the neo-Gothic architecture. The Speicherstadt rises from the darkness. The richness of the area is carefully staged and bathed in a narrative light. The artistic illumination of the Speicherstadt uses the metaphor of theatre: the city as a stage, the viewer as a player.

Light and darkness accentuate perspectives, highlight target points, envelop the concise and typical elements of the architecture in an appropriate brightness.

The visitor can choose between different perspectives: the view from the launch, the view from street level and the view from the buildings. All three lines of sight are included in the lighting design, which directly reflects the character of the huge ensemble. The viewer is invited to constantly change his perspectives. The interplay between light and dark is a constant invitation to stroll and discover the wealth of detail in Speicherstadt’s architecture. It also corresponds with the constant change of ebb and flow in the many canals of the Speicherstadt. Many filigree surface structures, figurative elements and a distinct colourfulness of the brick landscape await discovery. In many cases, the lighting is also reflected on the water surface, vertical, static light paths contrasting with their flat and moving counterparts.

© ELBE&FLUT / Heinz-Joachim Hettchen
© ELBE&FLUT / Heinz-Joachim Hettchen

LIGHT PROJECTS BATZ

In April 2001, the city of Hamburg witnessed the realisation of an unprecedented project: an entire district shone in light for the first time in the evening hours. Over a distance of 1.5 km, the largest historic warehouse complex in the world was transformed into a fascinating nocturnal panorama. Over 60 harbour launches celebrated this moment with a ship siren concert. Since then, an image of the Hanseatic city has been carried around the world that is characterised by beauty, elegance and lightness.

The subject of the artistic light description is an urban ensemble designed by ten architects at the end of the 19th century. They all had a training of the so-called Hanoverian school of church building, which became known in northern Germany under the keyword “Neo-Gothic” or also “Brick Gothic”. A striking number of cathedral quotations have thus entered the formal language of the warehouse landscape. Richness of detail, asymmetries, variations in the serial elements (oriels, gables, turrets, pointed roofs, winch bonnets) mark the characteristics and unique atmosphere of this city of goods. The colour of the building material used ranges from light yellow to blue-red, enriched by green or black glazed gemstones. Since the 1950s, war damage has been replaced by modern buildings, impregnation of facades has sometimes caused striking colour variations, renovated bridges stand with light corrosion coatings next to rusty dark ones.

As a horizontal urban massif, vertically clocked by the rows of hatchways, criss-crossed by canals and accentuated by bridges, the Speicherstadt lay for a century as a scarcely entered foreign country and “dark beast” in front of the harbour and the city centre. A very sensual place, once smelling of coffee and spices, now involved in the process of transformation into office space for new media and new economy. A place that is used as a backdrop for numerous film and television productions due to its atmosphere and hardly ever fails to appeal to visitors emotionally.

In this case, the lighting concept could not draw on any reference, as a comparable object of a similar scale and differentiated architecture had not yet been illuminated. The first experiences with the topic of light were made on site in September 1999 on the occasion of the theatre project “Mozart. America”. This showed how light was to be rhythmised and qualified. The success of the theatre project marked the breakthrough for the idea of an illuminated Speicherstadt. The formulated lighting concept became the basis for realisation, not least because of the requirement to reconcile the three factors of aesthetics, economy and environmental compatibility.

© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel
© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel

TECHNICAL IMPLEMENTATION

Glare is avoided by mounting the unobtrusive luminaires. The lighting is from the bottom to the top. Horizontal lighting points create the impression of great spatial depth. For this purpose, Philips drew up plans for the light distribution based on pictures of the façades.

The solution is a triumph of weak light. The average wattage for the entire Speicherstadt is 24, ranging from 13 watts in the area of the towers to 18 watts for the bridges and 35 watts for the facades. Only in isolated cases have 70 watts been used, for example to set buildings apart from one another. In general, not the two-dimensional but the structuring and sculptural elements have been emphasised. Structure, contour and cubature are the orientation features of the light description. The result is an extremely attractive design of light and dark, i.e. a modelling and picturesque treatment of the building ensemble, whose street names still recall the former neighbourhood of Dutch religious refugees. In terms of art history, a homage to the technique of chiaroscuro and its perfection in Dutch painting is quite intentional.

The operation of the buildings became the co-author of the lighting design. The inner water axis of the fleets, which was no longer needed for deliveries, made it possible to limit the light to a single luminaire in each case, which transported the light along the individual floors up to the winch bonnet. The projecting parts of the façade with the light-coloured sandstone ends, the worn, rounded edges of the floors as well as the final round arches of the hatches thus stand out impressively, the doors that are set back a little appear like portals of an entrance. The pictorial and the imaginative are gaining in importance. The memories retain something mysterious that they do not reveal immediately and at first glance. The Speicherstadt is thus not a landscape of the first, fleeting glance. As a place of stored time, it preserves the richness of its impressions for those viewers who are rewarded for taking their time.

The model for the street side that is still active in delivery is called pairing. On either side of the winch lift, which is still in operation, two outriggers were placed above the public clearance. The overall greater brightness is also due to the location towards the old town. This is the representative side of the Speicherstadt, directly on the Zollkanal, predestined for a promenade once the customs fence has fallen. At the same time, the Speicherstadt will have a portal function for the planned HafenCity, the major urban development programme directly adjacent to Sandtorkai, the world-famous address for the coffee trade.

Omission became an important compositional element in both the water and city sides. Completion was not chosen from the outset in order to preserve the raw material of darkness as much as possible and to avoid stereotypes. It was not a matter of lining up raised zebra stripes made of light next to each other, but of taking up and reproducing the living rhythm of the architecture in the light. This resolution proved to be correct not only for the short, but above all for the long glances in the respective perspective gathers. From the different angles, the Speicherstadt never appears quite the same.

Another consideration in the restraint relates to the development of ambient light and the renewal of street lighting. The more offices that are built, the brighter the place will be in the future. There should be no competition between the interior light of the offices and the exterior light of the illumination, but rather a meaningful dialogue. The whip lanterns of the public street lighting prove to be extremely disturbing and should be replaced by contemporary fixtures. In the area of the façades, for example at Block E (the Speicherstadt is divided into blocks), historical light points were used, only the direction was changed to emphasise the textures of the brickwork. Proximity to the object and façade had definite priority. As a matter of principle, distance and surface illumination, simulations and extraneous colours were avoided. Downlights are prohibited by themselves because of glare, but also to exclude dramatic effects – artificial moonlight situations, etc. A quiet, spectacle that gives the place a quiet, nocturnal existence without dramatising or romanticising it.

All bridges are illuminated from the substructure of their construction. The installation was done from pontoons, which was not always easy given the tidal and current conditions. Illuminated by fluorescent lamps of 18 watts each, the bridges appear like sculptures, artistic objects full of lightness. Here in particular, the contrast between the luminous metal construction and the liquid reflection in the waterways is very attractive.

Initially, only standard material from Philips was used. More than 1100 luminaires are currently installed. The trend towards miniaturisation can be seen as absolutely positive, as the experience in the Speicherstadt clearly proves. Recently, a wide variety of products have been retrofitted or installed using state-of-the-art LED technology. This keeps the project sustainable and economical.

FAQ

How is light art compatible with UNESCO World Heritage status and monument protection?

The concept and implementation of the lighting design were closely coordinated with the Hamburg Office for the Preservation of Historical Monuments from the very beginning. All sections have been sampled and inspected in the presence of the acting Chief Building Director and a representative of the Monuments Office before the permanent installation.


Since 5 July 2015, the Speicherstadt and the neighbouring Kontorhaus district with the Chilehaus have been on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The illumination of the Speicherstadt has existed since 27 April 2001. It is not only compatible with World Heritage status, but has contributed to the success of the application as such.

How long do the LED luminaires last?

According to the manufacturers, the service life of LED lamps is a maximum of up to 100,000 hours (nominal value). Depending on individual usage time and external influences (including weather, vibrations, etc.), the actual service life may be noticeably shorter.

How many hours are the luminaires switched on per year?

In terms of daily operation, the illumination of the Speicherstadt is linked to the operating hours of the public lighting. In general, it is about 2600 hours per year.

Do the lights harm the animals in the Speicherstadt? Bats? Insects? Spiders?

During the 20 years of operation so far, no dramatic decrease in nocturnal fauna has been observed. Insects and spiders are still present in a noticeable way. No information is available on bats.

Does the stray light have negative effects?

Care has been taken to ensure that directional light is used, i.e. that scattered light effects are minimised as far as possible. There have been no complaints in the past years.

What happens during storm surge?

Depending on the water level, the Speicherstadt bridges or the applications installed there may be affected. Although special damp-proof luminaires are in use, complete failures can occur in the event of corresponding flooding.

Luminaires installed on the façades have not been damaged by wind so far because of the stable cantilevers.

image
https://licht-kunst-speicherstadt.de/wp-content/themes/maple/
https://licht-kunst-speicherstadt.de/en/
#b8b8b8
style2
paged
Loading posts...
/usr/www/users/lichtnh/wp/
#
on
none
loading
#
Sort Gallery
on
yes
yes
off
on
off
en

DIE IDEE

Die Spei­cher­stadt ist das tra­di­tio­nel­le Sym­bol han­sea­ti­scher Kauf­manns­kraft. Nach der Auf­he­bung der Frei­zo­ne im Jahr 2003 ist die Spei­cher­stadt ins Zen­trum Ham­burgs gerückt und stellt heute das Por­tal zwi­schen Innen­stadt und Hafen­Ci­ty dar.

Die erfolg­rei­che Idee einer künst­le­ri­schen Insze­nie­rung der Lager­häu­ser an den Flee­ten ent­stand in den Jah­ren 1993 und 1994. Mit der Orga­ni­sa­ti­on des intern­a­tio­na­len Licht­fo­rums durch die Ham­bur­ger Hafen und Logis­tik AG (damals Ham­bur­ger Hafen und Lager­haus AG) und anschlie­ßend mit dem Thea­ter­pro­jekt „Der Ham­bur­ger Jeder­mann” von Micha­el Batz wur­de die Spei­cher­stadt erst­ma­lig als Büh­ne genutzt und par­ti­ell künstlerisch in Szene gesetzt.

Im Jahr 2015 sind das in der Welt ein­ma­li­ge Lager­haus-Ensem­ble der Spei­cher­stadt und das benach­bar­te Kon­tor­haus­vier­tel zusam­men mit dem Chi­le­haus in die Lis­te des UNESCO Welt­erbes auf­ge­nom­men worden.

Die aktu­el­le Illu­mi­na­ti­on der Spei­cher­stadt ist ins­ge­samt das Resul­tat eines stim­mi­gen künst­le­ri­schen Grund­kon­zep­tes sowie eines lang­jäh­ri­gen Gestal­tungs­pro­zes­ses vol­ler tech­ni­scher und orga­ni­sa­to­ri­scher Herausforderungen und Erfahrungen.

Wasserschloss © ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel
Wasserschloss © ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel

REALISIERUNG

Mit der Thea­ter­in­sze­nie­rung „Mozart. Ame­ri­ka” von Micha­el Batz (1999) des Thea­ters in der Spei­cher­stadt gelang der Durch­bruch für die Idee einer dau­er­haft illu­mi­nier­ten Spei­cher­stadt. Die Erzäh­lung über den Auf­ent­halt des Mozart-Libret­tis­ten Loren­zo da Pon­te in Ham­burg (1801) ver­wan­del­te die Spei­cher­stadt in ein gran­dio­ses Open-Air-Opern­haus. Die Thea­ter­be­su­cher fuh­ren auf Bar­kas­sen durch die illu­mi­nier­te Flee­te und hör­ten Ari­en aus „Don Gio­van­ni”. Dies war der Start einer ers­ten tem­po­rä­ren Licht­ge­stal­tung von Fas­sa­den, Brü­cken und Dächern genau wie Win­den­hau­ben und Giebel.

Unmit­tel­bar überz­eugt zeig­te sich, wie das Medi­um Licht zu rhyth­mi­sie­ren und zu qua­li­fi­zie­ren war. Der Erfolg des Thea­ter­pro­jek­tes bedeu­te­te den Durch­bruch für die Idee einer illu­mi­nier­ten Spei­cher­stadt. Das aus­for­mu­lier­te Licht­kon­zept von Micha­el Batz wur­de zur Grund­la­ge der Rea­li­sa­ti­on, nicht zuletzt wegen der Ziel­set­zung der drei Fak­to­ren Ästhetik, Wirt­schaft­lich­keit und Umwelt­ver­träg­lich­keit har­mo­nisch zu vereinbaren.

© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel
© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel

INSZENIERUNG

Die Licht­kon­zep­ti­on konn­te im Fall der Spei­cher­stadt auf kei­ne Refe­renz zurück­grei­fen. Ein ver­gleich­ba­res Objekt in ähn­li­cher Grö­ße und Dif­fe­ren­ziert­heit der Archi­tek­tur wur­de noch nie illuminiert.

Im April 2001 erleb­te die Stadt Ham­burg die Rea­li­sa­ti­on eines bei­spiel­lo­sen Pro­jek­tes: Ein gan­zer Stadt­teil erstrahl­te in den Abend­stun­den erst­ma­lig im Licht. Auf einer Stre­cke von 1,5 Km ver­wan­del­te sich der his­to­ri­sche Lager­haus­kom­plex in ein faszi­nie­ren­des nächt­li­ches Pan­ora­ma. Über 60 Hafen­bar­kas­sen fei­er­ten die­sen Moment mit einem Schiffs­si­re­nen Kon­zert. Seit­dem wird das Bild der beleuch­te­ten Spei­cher­stadt mit ihrer Schön­heit, Ele­ganz und Leich­tig­keit für die Stadt Ham­burg in alle Welt getragen.

Kein Flut­licht, kein Distanz­licht, kei­ne Licht­ka­no­na­de: Bei der Illu­mi­na­ti­on wird die Licht­mas­se gewis­ser­ma­ßen zum Bestand­teil der neu­go­ti­schen Archi­tek­tur. Die Spei­cher­stadt erhebt sich aus dem Dun­keln. Der Reich­tum des Are­als wird behut­sam insze­niert und in ein erzäh­len­des Licht getaucht. Die künst­le­ri­sche Illu­mi­na­ti­on der Spei­cher­stadt bedient sich der Meta­pher des Thea­ters: Die Stadt als Büh­ne, der Betrach­ter als Mit­spie­ler.

Licht und Dun­kel­heit akzen­tu­ie­ren Per­spek­ti­ven, heben Ziel­punk­te her­vor, hül­len die prä­gnan­ten, und typi­schen Ele­men­te der Archi­tek­tur in eine ange­mes­se­ne Helligkeit.

Der Besu­cher kann zwi­schen ver­schie­de­nen Per­spek­ti­ven wäh­len: der Blick von der Bar­kas­se aus, der Blick von der Stra­ßen­ebe­ne und der Blick aus den Gebäu­den. Alle drei Blick­rich­tun­gen wer­den in die Licht­ge­stal­tung ein­be­zo­gen, die unmit­tel­bar den Cha­rak­ter des rie­si­gen Ensem­bles wie­der­ge­ben. Der Betrach­ter ist ein­ge­la­den, sei­ne Per­spek­ti­ven stän­dig zu ändern. Das Wech­sel­spiel zwi­schen Hell und Dun­kel ist eine ste­ti­ge Ein­la­dung zum Fla­nie­ren und zum Ent­de­cken des Detail­reich­tums der Spei­cher­stadt­ar­chi­tek­tur. Sie kor­re­spon­diert auch mit dem stän­di­gen Wech­sel an Ebbe und Flut in den vie­len Flee­ten der Spei­cher­stadt. Auf Ent­de­ckung war­ten vie­le fili­gra­ne Ober­flä­chen­struk­tu­ren, figu­ra­ti­ve Ele­men­te und eine aus­ge­präg­te Far­big­keit der Back­stein­land­schaft. Viel­fach spie­gelt sich die Beleuch­tung auch auf der Was­ser­ober­flä­che wie­der, ver­ti­ka­le, sta­ti­sche Licht­bah­nen kon­tras­tie­ren mit ihrem flä­chi­gen und beweg­ten Gegenüber.

© ELBE&FLUT / Heinz-Joachim Hettchen
© ELBE&FLUT / Heinz-Joachim Hettchen

LICHTPROJEKTE BATZ

Im April 2001 hat die Stadt Ham­burg die Ver­wirk­li­chung eines bei­spiel­lo­sen Pro­jekts erlebt: Ein gan­zer Stadt­teil erstrahl­te in den Abend­stun­den erst­ma­lig im Licht. Auf einer Stre­cke von 1,5 km ver­wan­del­te sich der größ­te his­to­ri­sche Lager­haus­kom­plex der Welt in ein fas­zi­nie­ren­des nächt­li­ches Pan­ora­ma. Über 60 Hafen­bar­kas­sen fei­er­ten die­sen Moment mit einem Schiffs­si­re­nen-Kon­zert. Seit­dem wird ein Bild der Han­se­stadt in alle Welt getra­gen, das von Schön­heit, Ele­ganz und Leich­tig­keit geprägt ist.

Gegen­stand der künst­le­ri­schen Licht­be­schrei­bung ist ein städ­te­bau­li­ches Ensem­ble, das Ende des 19. Jahr­hun­derts von zehn Archi­tek­ten ent­wor­fen wor­den ist. Sie alle hat­ten eine Aus­bil­dung der sog. Han­no­ver­schen Schu­le des Kir­chen­baus, die unter dem Stich­wort „Neo­go­tik” oder auch „Back­stein­go­tik” in Nord­deutsch­land bekannt gewor­den ist. Auf­fal­lend vie­le Kathe­dra­len­zi­ta­te sind damit in die For­men­spra­che der Lager­haus­land­schaft ein­ge­gan­gen. Detail­reich­tum, Asym­me­trien, Varia­tio­nen in den seri­el­len Ele­men­ten (Erker, Gie­bel, Türm­chen, Spitz­dä­cher, Win­den­hau­ben) kenn­zeich­nen die Cha­rak­te­ris­tik und die ein­zig­ar­ti­ge Atmo­sphä­re die­ser Stadt der Waren. Die Far­big­keit des ver­wen­de­ten Bau­ma­te­ri­als reicht von hell­gelb bis blau­rot, ange­rei­chert durch grün oder schwarz gla­sier­te Schmuck­stei­ne. Seit den 50er Jah­ren die­ses Jahr­hun­derts sind Kriegs­schä­den durch moder­ne Bau­ten ersetzt wor­den, Imprä­gnie­run­gen von Fas­sa­den haben z.T. für auf­fal­len­de Farb­ab­wei­chun­gen gesorgt, reno­vier­te Brü­cken ste­hen mit hel­ler Kor­ro­si­ons­be­schich­tung neben rostig-dunklen.

Als hori­zon­ta­les Stadt­mas­siv, ver­ti­kal getak­tet durch die Rei­hen der Luken­strän­ge, von Flee­ten durch­zo­gen und durch Brü­cken akzen­tu­iert, lag die Spei­cher­stadt ein Jahr­hun­dert lang als kaum betre­te­nes Aus­land und „dunk­les Tier” vor dem Hafen und der Innen­stadt. Ein sehr sinn­li­cher Ort, einst nach Kaf­fee und Gewür­zen duf­tend, heu­te ein­ge­bun­den in den Pro­zess der Umwand­lung in Büro­raum für New Media und New Eco­no­my. Ein Ort, der auf­grund sei­ner Atmo­sphä­re für zahl­rei­che Film- und Fern­seh­pro­duk­tio­nen als Kulis­se benutzt wird und kaum einen Besu­cher nicht auch emo­tio­nal anspricht.

Die Licht­kon­zep­ti­on konn­te in die­sem Fall auf kei­ne Refe­renz zurück­grei­fen, da ein ver­gleich­ba­res Objekt in ähn­li­cher Grö­ßen­ord­nung und Dif­fe­ren­ziert­heit der Archi­tek­tur noch nicht illu­mi­niert wor­den ist. Ers­te Erfah­run­gen zum The­ma Licht wur­den vor Ort im Sep­tem­ber 1999 anläß­lich des Thea­ter­pro­jekts „Mozart.Amerika“ gemacht. Hier­bei zeig­te sich, wie Licht zu rhyth­mi­sie­ren und zu qua­li­fi­zie­ren war. Der Erfolg des Thea­ter­pro­jekts bedeu­te­te den Durch­bruch für die Idee einer illu­mi­nier­ten Spei­cher­stadt. Das aus­for­mu­lier­te Licht­kon­zept wur­de zur Grund­la­ge der Rea­li­sie­rung, nicht zuletzt wegen der Vor­ga­be, die drei Fak­to­ren Ästhe­tik, Wirt­schaft­lich­keit und Umwelt­ver­träg­lich­keit zu vereinbaren.

© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel
© ELBE&FLUT / Thomas Hampel

TECHNISCHE UMSETZUNG

Blen­dun­gen wer­den durch eine Mon­ta­ge der unauf­fäl­li­gen Leuch­ten ver­mie­den. Die Beleuch­tung erfolgt von unten nach oben. Hori­zon­ta­le Beleuch­tungs­punk­te erzeu­gen den Ein­druck gro­ßer räum­li­cher Tie­fe. Dafür wur­den von Phil­ips Plä­ne, anhand von Bil­dern der Fas­sa­den, für die Licht­ver­tei­lung erstellt.

Die Lösung ist ein Tri­umph des schwa­chen Lichts. Die Durch­schnitts­watt­zahl für die gesam­te Spei­cher­stadt beträgt 24. Die Ska­la reicht von 13 Watt im Bereich der Tür­me über 18 Watt für die Brü­cken und 35 Watt für die Fas­sa­den. Nur ver­ein­zelt sind 70 Watt ein­ge­setzt wor­den, etwa um Gebäu­de von­ein­an­der abzu­set­zen. Im all­ge­mei­nen sind nicht die flä­chi­gen, son­dern die glie­dern­den und plas­ti­schen Ele­men­te betont wor­den. Struk­tur, Kon­tur und Kuba­tur sind die Ori­en­tie­rungs­merk­ma­le der Licht­be­schrei­bung. Ergeb­nis ist eine äußerst reiz­vol­le Gestal­tung von Hell und Dun­kel, das heißt ein model­lie­ren­der und male­ri­scher Umgang mit dem Bau­en­sem­ble, des­sen Stra­ßen­na­men noch heu­te an das eins­ti­ge Quar­tier hol­län­di­scher Glau­bens­flücht­lin­ge erin­nern. In kunst­ge­schicht­li­cher Hin­sicht ist eine Hom­mage an die Tech­nik des Chia­ros­cu­ro und ihre Per­fek­ti­on in der hol­län­di­schen Male­rei durch­aus gewollt.

Der Betrieb der Gebäu­de wur­de zum Co-Autoren der Licht­pla­nung. Die für Zulie­fe­rung nicht mehr benö­tig­te inne­re Was­ser­ach­se der Flee­te ermög­lich­te die Beschrän­kung auf jeweils eine ein­zi­ge Leuch­te, die das Licht an den ein­zel­nen Böden bis hin­auf zur Win­den­hau­be trans­por­tiert. Die vor­sprin­gen­den Fas­sa­den­tei­le mit den hel­len Sand­stein­ab­schlüs­sen, die abge­wetz­ten, run­den Kan­ten der Böden sowie die abschlie­ßen­den Rund­bö­gen der Luken tre­ten dadurch ein­drucks­voll her­vor, die etwas zurück­lie­gen­den Türen erschei­nen wie Por­ta­le eines Auf­tritts. Das Bild­haf­te und Ima­gi­na­ti­ve gewinnt an Bedeu­tung. Die Spei­cher behal­ten etwas Geheim­nis­vol­les, das sie nicht sofort und auf den ers­ten Blick preis­ge­ben. Die Spei­cher­stadt wird so kei­ne Land­schaft des ers­ten, flüch­ti­gen Blicks. Als Ort gespei­cher­ter Zeit bewahrt sie den Reich­tum ihrer Ein­drü­cke für den­je­ni­gen Betrach­ter auf, der dafür belohnt wird, daß er sich Zeit nimmt.

Das Modell für die in der Belie­fe­rung noch akti­ve Stra­ßen­sei­te heißt Paa­rig­keit. Zu bei­den Sei­ten des noch täti­gen Win­den­auf­zugs wur­den zwei Aus­le­ger ober­halb des öffent­li­chen Licht­raum­pro­fils ange­setzt. Die ins­ge­samt grö­ße­re Hel­lig­keit ver­dankt sich auch der Lage zur Alt­stadt. Hier befin­det sich die Reprä­sen­ta­ti­ons­sei­te der Spei­cher­stadt, direkt am Zoll­ka­nal, prä­de­sti­niert für eine Fla­nier­mei­le, sobald der Zoll­zaun ein­mal gefal­len sein wird. Zugleich erhält die Spei­cher­stadt damit eine Por­tal­funk­ti­on für die geplan­te Hafen­Ci­ty, das gro­ße Stadt­ent­wick­lungs­pro­gramm unmit­tel­bar im Anschluß an den Sand­tor­kai, der welt­be­kann­ten Adres­se für den Kaffeehandel.

Zu einem wich­ti­gen kom­po­si­to­ri­schen Ele­ment sowohl bei der Was­ser- als auch bei der Stadt­sei­te wur­de die Aus­las­sung. Von vorn­her­ein wur­de nicht auf Kom­plet­tie­rung gesetzt, um den Roh­stoff Dun­kel­heit mög­lichst zu erhal­ten und um Ste­reo­ty­pen zu ver­mei­den. Es ging nicht dar­um, hoch­ge­stell­te Zebra­strei­fen aus Licht neben­ein­an­der zu rei­hen, son­dern die leben­di­ge Rhyth­mik der Archi­tek­tur im Licht auf­zu­neh­men und nach­zu­voll­zie­hen. Nicht allein für die kur­zen, vor allem für die lan­gen Bli­cke in den jewei­li­gen per­spek­ti­vi­schen Raf­fun­gen erwies sich die­ser Vor­satz als rich­tig. Aus den ver­schie­de­nen Blick­win­keln erscheint die Spei­cher­stadt nie ganz gleich.

Ein wei­te­rer Gesichts­punkt bei der Zurück­hal­tung betrifft die Ent­wick­lung des Umge­bungs­lichts und die Erneue­rung der Stra­ßen­be­leuch­tung. Je mehr Büros ent­ste­hen, des­to hel­ler wird der Ort in Zukunft wer­den. Eine Kon­kur­renz von Innen­licht der Büros und Außen­licht der Illu­mi­na­ti­on soll­te es nicht geben, son­dern einen sinn­vol­len Dia­log. Als äußerst stö­rend erwei­sen sich die Peit­schen­la­ter­nen der öffent­li­chen Stra­ßen­be­leuch­tung, die durch zeit­ge­mä­ße Ein­rich­tun­gen ersetzt wer­den soll­ten. Im Bereich der Fas­sa­den etwa bei Block E (die Spei­cher­stadt ist nach Blö­cken ein­ge­teilt) wur­de bei his­to­ri­schen Licht­punk­ten ange­setzt, nur die Rich­tung ver­än­dert, um die Tex­tu­ren des Mau­er­werks her­vor­zu­he­ben. Objekt- und Fas­sa­den­nä­he hat­ten defi­ni­ti­ve Prio­ri­tät. Ver­mie­den wur­den prin­zi­pi­ell Distanz- und Flä­chen­leuch­tun­gen, Sims­bre­chun­gen und Fremd­far­big­kei­ten. Down­lights ver­bo­ten sich von selbst wegen der Blen­dung, aber auch um dra­ma­ti­sche Effek­te — künst­li­che Mond­licht­si­tua­tio­nen etc. — aus­zu­schlie­ßen. Ein stil­les, Spek­ta­kel, das dem Ort eine ruhi­ge, nächt­li­che Exis­tenz ver­leiht, ohne ihn zu dra­ma­ti­sie­ren oder zu romantisieren.

Alle Brü­cken sind aus dem Unter­bau ihrer Kon­struk­ti­on geleuch­tet. Die Instal­la­ti­on erfolg­te von Pon­tons, was bei den Tiden- und Strö­mungs­ver­hält­nis­sen nicht immer ein­fach war. Vom Leucht­stoff­lam­pen mit jeweils 18 Watt erleuch­tet, erschei­nen die Brü­cken wie Skulp­tu­ren, künst­le­ri­sche Objek­te vol­ler Leich­tig­keit. Beson­ders hier ist der Kon­trast der leuch­ten­den Metall­kon­struk­ti­on zur liqui­den Spie­ge­lung in den Flee­ten sehr reizvoll.

Ver­wen­det wur­de zunächst aus­schließ­lich Stan­dard­ma­te­ri­al von Phil­ips. Aktu­ell sind über 1100 Leuch­ten instal­liert. Der Trend zur Minia­tu­ri­sie­rung ist als abso­lut posi­tiv zu bewer­ten, wie die Erfah­rung in der Spei­cher­stadt ein­deu­tig belegt. Seit neu­es­tem wer­den viel­fäl­ti­ge Pro­duk­te in moderns­ter LED-Tech­nik nach­ge­rüs­tet oder ver­baut. So bleibt das Pro­jekt nach­hal­tig und ökonomisch.

FAQ

Wie ist die Lichtkunst mit dem UNESCO-Welterbestatus und dem Denkmalschutz vereinbar?

Konzept und Umsetzung der Lichtgestaltung sind von Beginn an eng abgestimmt mit dem Hamburger Amt für Denkmalpflege. Sämtliche Teilabschnitte sind in Anwesenheit des amtierenden Oberbaudirektors und eines Vertreters des Denkmalamtes vor der Festinstallation bemustert und begutachtet worden.


Seit dem 5. Juli 2015 sind die Speicherstadt und das benachbarte Kontorhausviertel mit dem Chilehaus auf der Liste des UNESCO-Welterbes. Die Illumination der Speicherstadt besteht seit dem 27. April 2001. Sie ist nicht nur vereinbar mit dem Welterbestatus, sondern hat zum Erfolg der Bewerbung als solches beigetragen.

Wie lange halten die LED-Leuchten?

Die Lebensdauer von LED-Lampen beträgt laut Angaben der Hersteller maximal bis zu 100.000 Stunden (Nennwert). Je nach individueller Nutzungsdauer und äußeren Einflüssen (u.a. Witterung, Vibrationen etc.) kann die tatsächliche Lebensdauer merklich kürzer sein.

Wie viele Stunden sind die Leuchten im Jahr eingeschaltet?

Die Illumination der Speicherstadt ist hinsichtlich des täglichen Betriebs gekoppelt an die Betriebsstunden der öffentlichen Beleuchtung. Im allgemeinen sind es ca. 2600 Stunden pro Jahr.

Schaden die Leuchten den Tieren in der Speicherstadt? Fledermäuse? Insekten? Spinnen?

Während der bisherigen 20 Jahre Betrieb ist keine dramatische Abnahme von nachtaktiver Fauna zu beobachten gewesen. Insekten und Spinnen sind nach wie vor in merklicher Weise vorhanden. Über Fledermäuse liegen keine Angaben vor.

Hat das Streulicht negative Auswirkungen?

Es ist darauf geachtet worden, dass gerichtetes Licht zum Einsatz kommt, also Streulichteffekte möglichst minimiert werden. In den zurückliegenden Jahren hat es keine Beschwerden gegeben.

Was passiert bei Sturmflut?

Je nach Höhe des Wasserstandes können die Brücken der Speicherstadt bzw. die dort installierten Applikationen betroffen sein. Zwar sind spezielle Feuchtraumleuchten im Einsatz, doch kann es bei entsprechenden Überschwemmungen zu kompletten Ausfällen kommen.

An den Fassaden verbaute Leuchten sind wegen der stabilen Ausleger bisher durch Windeinwirkung nicht beschädigt worden.

image
https://licht-kunst-speicherstadt.de/wp-content/themes/maple/
https://licht-kunst-speicherstadt.de/
#b8b8b8
style2
paged
Loading posts...
/usr/www/users/lichtnh/wp/
#
on
none
loading
#
Sort Gallery
on
yes
yes
off
on
off
de